How to get notified about workspace data updates and workflow submissions

Jason Cerrato
  • Updated

Learn how to toggle workspace notifications on and off, so that you get an email when someone updates the data in the workspace or submits a workflow - or turn these notifications off!

Overview: workspace change notifications

You can choose to get email notifications about data changes or workflow submission statuses for any workspace that you can access. Data change notifications alert you when a workspace owner sends a notification to indicate that they have added or changed the data in the workspace. Workflow submission status notifications alert you when a workflow submission in the workspace has succeeded, failed, or been aborted. 

Both data change and workflow submission status notifications are turned on by default.

You can toggle these notifications on or off, regardless of your level of access to the workspace (writer, owner, or reader). There are two ways to do this: on the workspace's dashboard or through the Notification Settings menu in your Terra Profile.

Option 1: Toggle notifications on the workspace dashboard

1. Navigate to the workspace whose notifications you want to edit, and click on the Dashboard tab.

2. Expand the Notifications menu at the far right of the screen.

3. Check or un-check boxes to enable or disable notifications for submissions (workflow submission updates) or data changed.

Screenshot of an example workspace's dashboard with the notification settings menu expanded. An orange rectangle highlights the section with two checked boxes: one labeled 'Receive submission notifications' and one labeled 'Receive data changed notifications'.

Option 2: Toggle notifications in your Terra profile

1. Click on the menu with three horizontal lines at the top left of any Terra screen.

2. Expand the menu with your name.

3. Click on Profile.

Screenshot showing how to navigate to the Terra user profile menu. An orange rectangle highlights the icon with three vertical lines at the top left of the screen (these lines are horizontal until clicked). Another orange rectangle highlights the 'profile' menu option visible once a user expands the menu with their name.

4. Click on the notification settings tab

Screenshot of the notification settings tab of the Terra user profile. An orange rectangle highlights the notification settings tab. Another orange rectangle highlights the Workspace Notifications section. Orange arrows highlight the checkboxes available for each workspace: 'submission opt in' and 'data changed opt in'.

5. Find the relevant workspace under the Workspace Notifications section.

6. Check or un-check the Submission Opt In box to enable or disable notifications about workflow submissions. Check or un-check the Data Changed Opt In box to enable or disable notifications about data changes. 

What to expect

If you've toggled data change notifications on, you will receive an email every time a workspace owner chooses to send a data change notification for that workspace. If you've toggled workflow notifications on, you will receive an email every time a workflow has finished running in that workspace (regardless of whether it has succeeded, failed, or been aborted).

If you've toggled either of these notifications off, you will no longer receive these emails.

Was this article helpful?

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.