Billing permissions FAQs
What happens when owners remove a user from a Google Cloud Billing account?
A user who no longer has a role in a GCP Billing account can no longer create a Terra Billing project. Instead, they will get the following error message:
They will also not be able to see detailed cost breakdowns or reports in GCP console.
Note: Users can still charge costs to the Billing account they have just been removed from!
By creating workspaces under any Billing projects they created or where they are still users
By performing operations in any workspaces they created or that were shared with them
To learn how to prevent these charges, see Best practices for managing shared (funding) resources.
What happens when owners remove a user from a Terra Billing project?
When you remove a user from a Terra Billing project, they will no longer be able to create workspaces with that Billing project.
If they have been removed from all Terra Billing projects, they will get the following message when they try to clone or create a workspace:
Note: Users can still charge cloud costs costs to the Billing project they have just been removed from!
By operating in any workspace that has been shared with them
By operating in any workspace they created when they were still a Billing project user
(as long as that Billing project is connected to a valid GCP Billing account)
To prevent this, Billing account owners will need to 1. disable billing on all Terra projects created by this user, and 2. remove them from any shared workspaces. To learn more, see Best practices for managing shared (funding) resources.
What happens when you remove a user from a workspace?
When a user is removed from a workspace (i.e., has no permission to view, compute or share the workspace), they will be unable to access the workspace. When they try to open the workspace, they will get a warning message, and they will no longer be able to accrue any costs by analyzing in the workspace. This takes effect immediately.
Can you link a Terra billing project and a Google project?
It is not possible to link an existing Google Project to a Terra workspace. Only Terra can create the workspace Google projects (which are mostly in the background and different from the Terra Billing project).
In some cases, GCP users can run into trouble when trying to integrate their Terra billing projects with GCP. It's useful to understand the following:
Terra will always create a GCP project when you create a workspace. You can see the workspace Google project in the Workspace Information (on the right column in the Dashboard).
If you are the Google Cloud Billing account owner, you will see the workspace projects in the GCP console here. The Google project that Terra creates **will have the format
Google Cloud Billing account owners can change the Cloud Billing account associated with a Terra Billing project in Terra. Go to the Billing page at https://app.terra.bio/#billing.