Each workspace is backed by a Google Cloud Billing account. When you need to prevent a workspace from incurring any costs moving forward, you can disable billing on its Google project on GCP. The advantage of doing this is it is very comprehensive. The disadvantage is it is very permanent. Note that when you do this, you will lose access to any data stored in the workspace. Google does not report how long they retain data that isn't being paid for, but they reserve the right to delete that data at any time.
If you no longer need access to the workspace data tables or analysis tools, you can delete the workspace by clicking on the three vertical dot icon. Deleting a workspace automatically deletes the associated Google project and prevents any additional GCP costs from accruing.
What happens when you disable workspace billing
When you visit a workspace with a disabled Google project, you'll discover you're no longer able to perform any actions that have a cloud cost.
Unavailable actions (disabled Cloud billing)
- Viewing data stored in the Workspace bucket
- Adding data to the Workspace bucket
- Viewing a notebook (.ipynb files are stored in the Workspace bucket)
- Starting a Cloud Environment
- Submitting a workflow
What to expect (screenshots)
Viewing data or notebooks stored in the workspace bucket
Starting a Cloud Environment
Submitting a workflow
Some things to remember about removing/disabling billing
You need to have “Owner” (Cloud Billing account administrator) permission on the Google Cloud Billing account in order to follow these instructions.
If you are not able to follow the directions below or do not see the options in the screenshots, it is likely because you are not the Cloud Billing account owner. You will need to ask the owner for admin privileges or ask that they follow the instructions to disable billing. This will be the case, for example, if you are using third-party resellers such as STRIDES or Onix.
After you disable billing, you won't be able to access any data or notebooks in the workspace bucket or use any analysis tools. You will still be able to access workflows and data tables (to copy to another workspace, for example).
How to disable a workspace billing project
To be completely sure you will not be accruing charges in workspaces you created in Terra, you will need to disable billing for the workspace Google project.
You will do this in GCP console, and it will take effect immediately. You need to be the Google Cloud Billing account owner or administrator to follow these steps.
1. Make sure you're logged into Google Chrome (Cloud Billing account admin or owner).
2. Go to the Google Cloud Console at https://console.cloud.google.com/home.
3. Go to the Billing overview.
4. Select Account management from the bottom left.
You will see all projects created by Terra under this Billing account, no matter what user created it.
5. Click on the three vertical dots beside the Google project for the workspace you want to disable.
The Google project name will have the format <Terra Billing project>--<First part of workspace name>.
You can find the workspace Google project ID under Cloud Information > Google project ID) in the right column of the Dashboard page.
6. Select Disable billing.
What to expect
Once you disable billing, you won't be able to start a workflow or notebook in the workspace effective immediately.