To dissociate a Google billing account from all Terra-related charges, you can remove Terra from your Google billing account using the Google Cloud console. This article explains why you might want to dissociate Terra from a Google billing account and step-by-step instructions on how to do it.
Note that if a Terra account does not include any Google billing account, you will lose any data stored in workspaces under that Terra account.
- When to remove Terra from your Google billing account
- Step-by-step instructions to remove Terra from your Google billing account
When to remove Terra from your Google billing account
You may want to remove Terra from your Google billing account if you are leaving the platform and want to ensure that there is no possible way for your billing account to get charged for any storage or compute associated with Terra.
Step-by-step instructions to remove Terra from your Google billing account
You can remove Terra from an existing Google Billing account exists by following the steps below. Note that this will remove billing from all your existing Terra workspaces.
- Go to the Google Cloud Console and choose the billing project you want to remove (see screenshot below. Note that free credits accounts start with “fccredits-xxx-xxx-xxxx.”)
- Click to expand the "Billing Account User" menu on the bottom right and delete firstname.lastname@example.org by clicking on the trashcan icon:
To make sure the transition was successful, log back into the console following the steps above and make sure email@example.com is not listed as a user in the billing account.