Collaborate in a shared workspace

Allie Hajian
  • Updated

"Sharing" a workspace allows collaborators to actively work together in the same project workspace. You can see what sorts of changes your colleagues are implementing, troubleshoot a workspace efficiently as a team, and delegate work.

You can share from within your workspace or from the "Your Workspaces" page. Read on for step-by-step instructions.

Before you share... How to protect work from being overwritten 
Collaborators may end up making overwriting or changing someone else's work, or messing up your team's versioning organization.

How are costs and billing covered? 
All work done, and costs incurred, in a shared workspace are covered under the original workspace Billing Project. This may be fine if all your collaborators are working in the same lab or wit the same grant. You may need to assign more restrictive roles (i.e. non-compute) for others when sharing. For an alternative to sharing with different implications for costs and billing, see this article on cloning a workspace

Step-by-step guide to sharing workspaces in Terra

Step 1. Access the share form (from the three vertical dots icon)

  • Share from within the workspace

    1.1. Click on the three vertical dots on the top right of your workspace Dashboard (see screenshot below): Clone-workspaces_Dashboard_Screen_shot.png

    1.2. In the popup menu, choose "Share":
    S17b_May31_2019.png

  • Share from the Workspaces page

    1.1. To access the full list of Terra workspaces available to you, click on "View Workspaces" from the Terra homepage app.terra.bio:
    S17d_May31_2019.png

    1.2. Click on the three vertical dots at the right of the card of the workspace you want to share:
    Clone-workspaces_Workspace-card_Screen_shot.png

    1.3. In the popup menu, choose "Share":
    S17b_May31_2019.png

Step 2. Complete the sharing form

  • Step-by-step instructions for completing the sharing forms

    2.1. Type in the Terra user account address of the person you want to share with.

    Share-workspace-form-Step_1-Addd-people-or-groups.png

    2.2. Hit "Return" or "Enter" on your keyboard. You should see the address populate below in the list of Current Collaborators surrounded by a pale green box.

    Share-workspace-form-step-2-Select-roles.png

    If you don't see their name in a pale green box, go back to step 2.1 and make sure to hit return or enter. 

    2.3. Choose the role you want to assign and check the permission checkboxes as needed.
    2.4. Click the "Save" button.

Your collaborator should see the workspace right away in "My Workspaces"

Verifying your share Check to make sure your share was successful by clicking the three vertical dots again and selecting "Share".

If you see an orange "PENDING" warning (screenshot below), this is most likely because of a typo in your collaborator's user ID. You should cancel the share and try again. 

Share-workspace_Pending_Screen_shot.png

Sharing a workspace with a service account   

You may wish to share a workspace with a service account - a special type of account that manages permissions on your behalf, and authorizes access to cloud resources. For example, if you want to use a product like TensorFlow to apply machine learning algorithms to data in a workspace bucket, you can register a service account to manage authorization to that bucket.

To learn how to register a service account, see Register a service account for use in Terra.

NOTE: For security purposes, service accounts cannot be created in Firecloud-created Google Projects. The service account will need to be created in a different Google Project.

Running this script will register the new service account, and print out an email address for that account that will look something like this:

svc_account_name@project_name.iam.gserviceaccount.com

You can then share the workspace with the service account as described in steps 1 and 2 of this article, entering that service account's email into the "user email" field. NOTE: You will also need to add the service account to the authorization domain if the workspace has one.

See Sharing data and tools with workspace access controls for more details on Reader, Writer and Owner roles.

Was this article helpful?

1 out of 1 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.