Make your own project workspace

Allie Hajian
  • Updated

Cloning a workspace makes a completely independent copy of the workspace under your own billing project. Since you are the owner and sole user (until you choose to "share" your copy with someone else), you can experiment with code and data in your copy without running the risk of affecting a group workspace. Cloning is useful if you want to run computations in a workspace where you only have "read access."  Cloning a Featured Workspace that covers the research tasks you want to do, for example, is one way to jump into using Terra without writing your own scripts or notebooks.

For information about collaborating  in a single workspace, see How to share a workspace

Step-by-step guide to cloning a workspace

See the video and step-by-step guide below to learn how to clone a workspace in Terra.

Step 1. Locate the three vertical dots icon

  • From within the workspace

    Click on the three vertical dots on the top right of your workspace Dashboard page.

    Clone-workspace_Screen_shot.png

  • From the Workspaces page

    1.1. To access the full list of Terra workspaces available to you, click on View Workspaces from the Terra homepage app.terra.bio.
    S17d_May31_2019.png

    1.2. Click on the three vertical dots at the far right of the workspace to clone.
    Clone-workspaces_Workspace-card_Screen_shot.png

Step 2. Complete the clone form

2.1. In the popup menu, choose Clone.
S17b_May31_2019.png

2.2. Type in your new workspace name, choose a billing project, a Workspace bucket location (see Customizing where your data are stored and analyzed, or US Multiregional versus Regional bucket tradeoffs), and enter an Authorization Domain (if needed - see Managing data privacy and access with Authorization Domains). 

Clone-workspace_Screen_shot.png

2.3. Click the Clone workspace button at the bottom of the form. 

You should see the newly cloned workspace in the "My Workspaces" section of the Workspaces page immediately.

Troubleshooting tip

If you get an error message that includes the phrase "Precondition failed" (see screenshot below), you have likely exceeded your Google project quota. To learn more about Google project quotas and how to request more, see When workspace creation fails: Google project quotas

Project-quota-error-message-when-creating-too-many-workspaces_Screen_shot.png

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 1 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.