"Sharing" a workspace allows collaborators to actively work together in the same workspace. Sharing a workspace lets you see what sorts of changes your colleagues implement, troubleshoot efficiently as a team, and delegate work. Read on for step-by-step instructions.
Before you share... Protect from overwriting Collaborators may end up making overwriting or changing someone else's work, or messing up your team's versioning organization. Terra has a system for preventing Jupyter notebooks from being overwritten. However, you will want to establish a system so that you do not overwrite the documentation or workflows in a shared workspace.
How are costs and billing covered?
The original workspace billing project covers all work done, and costs incurred, in a shared workspace. This may be fine if all your collaborators are working in the same lab or with the same grant. You may need to assign more restrictive roles (i.e., non-compute) to others when sharing. For an alternative to sharing with different implications for costs and billing, see this article on cloning a workspace.
Workspace roles and what collaborators can see
As a workspace owner, you control access to data and tools in a workspace by granting permissions to collaborators at the workspace level. Collaborators can be granted READER, WRITER, or OWNER access to workspaces.
As a READER, collaborators can only view the the workspace dashboard, data tables, and notebooks. If granted WRITER access, collaborators can also make changes to the workspace. Finally, if granted OWNER access, collaborators will be granted additional permissions to add or change collaborator roles for others in the workspace, or delete the workspace entirely. Note that you become a workspace OWNER any time you create or clone a workspace.
Step-by-step guide to sharing workspaces in Terra
Step 1. Access the share form (from the three vertical dots icon)
1.1. Click on the workspace action menu button on the top right of your workspace Dashboard (see screenshot below):
1.2. In the popup menu, choose "Share":
1.1. To access the full list of Terra workspaces available to you, click on "View Workspaces" from the Terra homepage app.terra.bio:
1.2. Click on the three vertical dots at the right of the card of the workspace you want to share:
1.3. In the popup menu, choose "Share":
Step 2. Complete the sharing form
2.1. Type in the Terra user account address of the person you want to share with.
2.2. Hit "Return" or "Enter" on your keyboard. You should see the address populate below in the list of Current Collaborators surrounded by a pale green box.
If you don't see their name in a pale green box, go back to step 2.1 and make sure to hit return or enter.
2.3. Choose the role you want to assign and check the permission checkboxes as needed.
2.4. Click the "Save" button.
What to expect
Your collaborator should see the workspace right away in "My Workspaces". Note that all tables in the shared workspace will be visible to all collaborators who have been granted access.
Verifying your share Check to make sure your share was successful by clicking the workspace action menu button again and selecting "Share".
If you see an orange "PENDING" warning (screenshot below), this is most likely because of a typo in your collaborator's user ID. Cancel the share and try again.
Using multi-tenant Terra