How to clone/delete workspaces

Derek Caetano-Anolles
  • Updated

Learn how cloning a workspace makes an independent copy of the workspace under your own Terra Billing project. Since you are the owner and sole user (until you choose to "share" your copy with someone else), you can experiment with code and data in your copy without running the risk of affecting a group workspace.

Step-by-step guide to cloning a workspace

Why clone a workspace?

Cloning is useful if you want to run computations using tools and data from a workspace where you only have "read access." For example, cloning a Featured Workspace that covers the research tasks you want to do, is one way to jump into using Terra without writing your own scripts or notebooks.

What to expect

Cloning a workspace will copy the dashboard, data tables, configured workflows (if the origin workspace was created after December 1, 2023), and notebooks

Notebooks may take a few minutes to copy over. Don't be alarmed if your notebook is not in your clone right away. 

See the video to learn how to clone a workspace in Terra
 

Step 1. Locate the three vertical dots icon

Option 1: From Your Workspaces page

1.1. Click on View Workspaces from the Terra homepage app.terra.bio.

1.2. Choose from your workspaces, new and interesting, featured, or public workspaces (in separate tabs).

1.3. Click on the three vertical dots at the far right of the workspace to clone.

Option 2: From within the workspace

Click on the three vertical dots on the top right of your workspace Dashboard page.

Screenshot of three vertical dots icon, located in the top right of the workspace.

Step 2. Complete the clone form

2.1. In the popup menu, choose Clone.

Screenshot of the 'Clone' popup menu. The options include 'Clone', 'Share', 'Lock', 'Leave', and 'Delete'.

2.2. Type in your new workspace name, and choose a Terra Billing project. Note that you must use an Azure-backed billing project to work in Terra on Azure

Screenshot of the 'Clone This Workspace' form. The text fields include Workspace name, Billing projet, Bucket location, Description, and Authorization domain.

2.3. Click the Clone workspace button at the bottom of the form.

What to expect

That's it! You've successfully cloned your own workspace. You should see the newly cloned workspace in the My Workspaces section of the Workspaces page. 

How to delete a workspace

If you aren't actively working in a workspace and want to save money, you can delete it at any time. 

1. Click on the three-dot action icon at the top left of any workspace page. 

Screenshot of three vertical dots icon, located in the top right of the workspace.

2. Select Delete from the menu. 

Screenshot of the 'Clone' popup menu. The options include 'Clone', 'Share', 'Lock', 'Leave', and 'Delete'.

3. Terra will prompt you to confirm that you want to delete the workspace.

ToA_Delete-workspaces-final-confirmation_Screenshot.png

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.